Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:0
 Guests:2
 Total:2
 Online Members
No Online members

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  Pilots' Pub ::  Custom flight
Moderated by:

Bottom 

Custom flight

jpc12785 Posted: 22.05.2019, 11:52



registered: Dec. 2017
Posts: 56

Status: offline
last visit: 22.05.19
Is there anyway you can enter a default flight IATA (example 1000) and then fly a custom route that is not on schedule anywhere? For example I was looking to fly from Toledo to KRVN, just to test out real life flight time/fuel etc. in different light aircraft. 
Top  Profile send PM
 
Westcoast Posted: 22.05.2019, 16:45

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1010

Status: offline
last visit: 09.06.19
Hi James,

Yes, this is easy to do.  Just pick a flight number designation not used for one of our scheduled or Special Operations flights and file your flight using that number.  As far as I know there are no flight number syntax limitations (other than, perhaps, length), so use something it will be easy for you to understand/remember.  Back in 2014 when I was developing a new Cat V schedule for the MSP Hub Schedule, I flew a series of flights in a Boeing 737-800, nominally to test out various proposed routes for the schedule, but really just to give me something interesting to do.  So I numbered and filed these flights as 15X1, 15X2, …  The 1 designates the MSP Hub, the 5 designates a Cat V flight, the X designates "experimental" and the last digit(s) are just the numerical sequence of my test flights.

To put this simply, our system would log "a ham sandwich".  The flight logging system in our base VAHQ or SPAACARS system only takes action based on your flight number if that number corresponds to an assigned flight (it removes that flight from your assignments), or a special group of flights, such as our Econ flights.  So, as long as you stay clear of those numbers, the flight number designation you choose doesn't matter.

Hope this helps.

Mike

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
Oswald Posted: 09.06.2019, 16:35



registered: Oct. 2017
Posts: 66

Status: offline
last visit: 10.06.19
Hello Mike,

I'd like to work out a kind of "charter sightseeing flight" in the Caucasus: Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Russia, just to explore the region and to try out whether it is an interesting flight for Special Operations. Is it possible to use some fancy strings for that, as well? Like CauT1, CauT2 etc. (for Caucasus, Test and running number)?

Oswald
Top  Profile send PM
 
Westcoast Posted: 09.06.2019, 16:47

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1010

Status: offline
last visit: 09.06.19
No problem Oswald.  Those flight designators should work.

Mike

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 09.06.2019, 16:49

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 956

Status: offline
last visit: 15.06.19
I might suggest that a singular flight number be used by all pilots for all custom flights.  Otherwise, it becomes increasingly difficult to identify flight numbers and patterns in the database - especially for special flights like Econ flights and Adventure Pack flights that have automated  award icons or automated tallying and flight assignments like the Econ flights.  There are already too many ad-hoc flight number creations over the years that it is now necessary to do some "house cleaning" of old flight numbers on the back end to ensure no conflicts with the current "scheduled" flights.

I had earlier suggested that pilots use the "9ONLINE" flight number because it was the only authorized, pilot-customized flight number that I could find in the rules or in Yoland's Bush Ops.  The fact that noone might be joining you - or that it might not actually be an on-line flight didn't impact our data handling or record keeping.  A similar number could be designated for pilot customized flights.

John



edited by: jer029, Jun 09, 2019 - 04:53 PM

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Oswald Posted: 09.06.2019, 17:09



registered: Oct. 2017
Posts: 66

Status: offline
last visit: 10.06.19
The idea is that if it works out, it might be of interest for Yoland's bush operations, therefore I'd like to make the custom flights distinguishable.
Top  Profile send PM
 
Westcoast Posted: 09.06.2019, 17:10

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1010

Status: offline
last visit: 09.06.19
I see your point John.  What the VAHQ system will accept is one thing; what avoids interference with "scheduled" flights is another.  How about something like 9PCPIDXXX, where the 9 would designate a "special" flight (i.e. not in the scheduled database), PC would designate pilot customized, "PID" would be the pilot's identification number and XXX would be alphanumerics chosen by the pilot to remind him of the nature of the flight?  

Mike

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 09.06.2019, 18:02

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 956

Status: offline
last visit: 15.06.19
That works for me...the 9 prefix has been Yoland's domain, but since none of it is automated, it won't interfere with other activities at least.

John

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Westcoast Posted: 09.06.2019, 18:16

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1010

Status: offline
last visit: 09.06.19
So, Oswald.  That would make your first Caucus Test Flight Number:  9PC670CAUT1

OK?

Mike

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 09.06.2019, 20:49

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 956

Status: offline
last visit: 15.06.19
There is a 10-char limit to the size of the Flight Code field.

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Westcoast Posted: 09.06.2019, 21:19

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1010

Status: offline
last visit: 09.06.19
Good to know; I  suspected as much (vide supra).  That means that the pilot's assigned flight number is limited to four characters.

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
Oswald Posted: 10.06.2019, 11:48



registered: Oct. 2017
Posts: 66

Status: offline
last visit: 10.06.19
That would be 9PC670CAU1 for instance, as there should be no reason for a "test" T as the whole thing is individual anyway.

I like the idea, because it gives the pilot an opportunity to develop things instead of just flying predescribed paths. Not the classical approach for airlines, but an appropriate one for an airline with a particular emphasis to worldwide "bush flying"; I would suggest.

Oswald



edited by: Oswald, Jun 10, 2019 - 06:54 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 10.06.2019, 12:42

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 956

Status: offline
last visit: 15.06.19
Yes, our primary emphasis is on enjoyment of flight-simming and sharing with others who have similar interests.  I only checked the database requirements for flight number field size.  I'm guessing (hoping) that I reviewed that when I set limits for SPAACARS program, but let me know if there's an issue.  While SPAACARS might allow larger size, it would truncate to 10 at the database.  If it prevents up to 10, then I'll have to update the SPAACARS programs I guess.

John

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 


Users online:


This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language