Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:0
 Guests:1
 Total:1
 Online Members
No Online members

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  Pilots' Pub ::  Lockheed Martin Prepar3D V4.4
Moderated by:

Bottom 

Lockheed Martin Prepar3D V4.4

SPA031 Posted: 06.12.2018, 20:44

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1145

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
I just upgraded to V4.4 of P3D. This is the 64 bit version. I might say that I am not expecting to see out of memory crashes any more. We'll see about that.

So, I went from version 4.2 to 4.4. What I did was to uninstall all my ORBX scenery and Active Sky first. I uninstalled Prepar3D first in order to get a fresh start. I could still use the same license to register the latest version. 

I have a YouTube for you to check out the settings. Click here --> Prepar3D V4 Settings



edited by: SPA031, Dec 06, 2018 - 10:05 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 08.12.2018, 20:50

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 911

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
Thanks Robert... You inspired me to do a full reinstall from my p3d4.0 to 4.4.  I'm still in the process of adding scenery and aircraft, but I'm one of the many who've noted a bit of a performance increase.  I also like the added aircraft like the new c-130 that I just flew (badly) on my last Adventure Pack flight.

I've spent that last couple of days uninstalling and reinstalling - I've yet to review the settings suggestions in your video link.  Unfortunately, even leaving FSX for p3d, I still find myself doing lots of install/uninstall, rebooting, etc. trying to get the best setup I can.

Part of the hassle is making fsx and 'less-than-fsx' stuff work again, like Tongass Fjords.  I spent most of the morning getting that working - even following the directions ( I missed an important step that I had to debug later - the terrain.cfg update).  The more addons you have, the more time-consuming the reinstall.

I've yet to reinstall the RTMM freeware and to repopulate my hangar with my meager p3d aircraft fleet, but I'm glad to finally get back in sync with the current p3d updates.

John

Hopefully I won't have to do another full reinstall for some time now.

John

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
SPA031 Posted: 09.12.2018, 14:39

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1145

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
 I switched over from FSX a long time ago and never looked back. I am really happy with the upgrade from V4.3 to V4.4 of P3D. I think the next upgrade might be V5.0 and that would require buying another license. My frame rates are higher and I see less stuttering with the recommended settings. I recommend starting your tweaking by looking at YouTube videos about P3D settings and then adjust them to accommodate your computer resources. Everyone has a different computer setup. 

Scenery is another matter. I recommend ORBX scenery starting with the global base pack and then add on more scenery from there. They have a version for P3DV4. I found that the scenery is very realistic and matches closely with the airports I am familiar with in the real world. Then you can add more detail by installing the regions that you will be flying over. The individual airport enhancements are icing on the cake. They add a more realistic level of detail.

For atmospheric effects, get the ActiveSky P3DV4 version app for accurate weather planning. If the clouds and atmospheric effects are not good enough, then get the Soft Clouds app as well. 

For trees, I installed the ORBX trees and they seem the most realistic.

And, for the piece de resistance, get the Foreflight app for an iPad. With that app you can do real time flight planning. And, it can be set up to connect to your network and display your sim aircraft on the Foreflight flight map. There is a three month subscription of Foreflight for $49. You can also take your iPad loaded with Foreflight with you on your real life flying adventures. It's the real deal.

In P3D, you will need to connect to Foreflight on your iPad. In P3D select Options>General>Broadcast and check the box called "GPS data to network." This connects P3D to Foreflight on the iPad. Then look for Devices in Foreflight to connect to and select your network.

Enjoy!

P.S I recommend the C90GTX  King Air from Carenado. It has the most realistic features that Carenado has to offer for now.




edited by: SPA031, Dec 09, 2018 - 03:56 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 09.12.2018, 17:05

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 911

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
Thanks Robert,

I've been using Foreflight on my ipad for some time.  It's pretty expensive - as it's for real-world pilots, but it certainly adds to the realism.

I also use AS for weather, but don't have orbx trees.

I tend to have to set things down already due to frame rate issues while running sim across 3 screens.

I'm also using Ultimate Traffic Live for p3d v4, which offers many commercial ai traffic with real-world repaints.

Very nice stuff.

John

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
SPA031 Posted: 09.12.2018, 21:29

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1145

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
cool And if you are tired of tooling around the skies on Earth, you can go into space with:  Link --> Star Citizen

By the way, here is a link to the Carenado Channel on YouTube: Link --> Carenado Channel

And, check out the REX Soft Clouds enhancement. I really like the realistic looking clouds they have. The installer is a little wonky if you ask me. And, I do not like having to turn off security.



edited by: SPA031, Dec 12, 2018 - 09:17 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 
bill721 Posted: 20.01.2019, 21:01

bill721

registered: May. 2015
Posts: 85

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
How has your full reinstall to 4.4 gone?  I had nothing but trouble and went back to 4.3.  I did a client only upgrade.  Wondering how a full uninstall and new install works?  I had more lags and even started having CTD without any error codes.



edited by: bill721, Jan 20, 2019 - 09:02 PM

Bill Ditz
PID 33
VATSIM Call Sign SPA302


Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 20.01.2019, 21:32

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 911

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
Hey Bill,

I had on the client-only install for the v3 update, so figured I better do the full thing this time around for v4.  It was a royal pain uninstalling and reinstalling things, but I've been very happy with the results.  I think I'm getting better performance (frame rates) with the full install, and have not had any CTD or other issues.  The only problem has been with certain models of planes not working in v4 that used to work in earlier versions.  Also the additional costs of some of the v4 modified addons.  Don't forget to check things like your FSUIPC for needed updates to run the new v4 version.

Bottom line is that I'm glad I did the full update to v4, and I can wait for the addons to catch up - or my pocketbook to handle any additional cost for a number of them that have an upgrade charge.

John

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
bill721 Posted: 21.01.2019, 10:30

bill721

registered: May. 2015
Posts: 85

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
John, thanks for the update.  I guess I will eventually need to do the full new install.  I'm like you have a bunch, too many, addons so a total reload will be a challenge.  I wasn't that impressed with the PBR update.  I wish they would put their emphasis on using all the CPU cores, fixing the lighting and shadows so they don't blink in and out as you pan the view, and figure out a way to make scenery loads much smoother.  They said they worked on that on version 4.4, but trying their setting adjustment didn't help much for me before returned to 4.3.  I'll probably stay on 4.3 for now and wait for 4.4 to completely stabilize or just wait for the next full product release.  I was in that mode of working more on trying to make the product work than enjoying flying so I'll pause for a while and enjoy flying.

Bill Ditz
PID 33
VATSIM Call Sign SPA302


Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA031 Posted: 21.01.2019, 14:29

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1145

Status: offline
last visit: 17.03.19
P3D v4.4 was a full install for me, not an upgrade. It looks fine. You can still use the license key from V4.3 to install it and you will need windows 10 64bit. No more out of memory crashes for me after doing this.

Here is a link to their web page --> Click Here







edited by: SPA031, Jan 21, 2019 - 03:38 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 
simondix Posted: 21.01.2019, 17:03



registered: Dec. 2017
Posts: 19

Status: offline
last visit: 10.03.19
I have P3Dv4.4 and it works OK for me on Windows 7 64bit]
Top  Profile send PM
 


Users online:


This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language