Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:1
 Guests:1
 Total:2
 Online Members
 storfisk 

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  Pilots' Pub ::  FSX vs PD3 V4
Moderated by:

Bottom 

FSX vs PD3 V4

wschneid Posted: 12.09.2018, 11:14



registered: Oct. 2014
Posts: 72

Status: offline
last visit: 17.09.18
I have been flying FSX since it first came out and upgraded to SP2 and FSX Accel. I know the sim is old now, but I want to know how much better is PD3 V4, if at all.

thanks

Bill
Top  Profile send PM
 
Westcoast Posted: 12.09.2018, 12:50

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 964

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
I'm in the same situation Bill and I am wondering the same thing. 

Mike

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
Westcoast Posted: 12.09.2018, 12:50

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 964

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
I'm in the same situation Bill and I am wondering the same thing. 

Mike

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
bbuske Posted: 12.09.2018, 13:57



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Hello, 

I do not own P3D anymore (since version 2).
 
However, since I have been looking for a new flight sim recently, I have done some extensive research. From what I have found out, P3D is a modernized development of FSX. Basically Lockheed Martin continues development. Hence many things seem to be familiar to the "old settled" FSX user. However, P3D supports quite extensive and good graphics and 64bit cores, which are supposed to increase performance significantly.  

As for planes, it is my understanding, that you can use most FSX aircraft with P3D. Some providers of payware offer free upgrades, while others offer upgrade for half the cost or at full price. Many things in P3D seem familiar to the common FSX user. I have been curious about it and might give it a try maybe. The issue is, that FSX and P3D don't run on Linux, so I have to see if it is worth the hassle. I am flying with FlightGear and X-Plane 11. The latter being also a great sim, with some advantages towards P3D, while P3D apparently has better scenery and more addons.  

I think John is using P3D v4. He told me about it a couple days ago. I am sure he can add some more information. Either way, if you found out anything noteworthy, let me know... Maybe I can get bothered to give it a try as well... 

Cheers

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 12.09.2018, 17:59

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 815

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
I didn't research it to death exactly, but - like Ben, I tried an earlier version of P3d - I think even v1.  My primary game system, aka flight deck, is a multi-monitor setup (3 screens to be exact).  The earlier version of P3d brought my framerates to a crawl much worse than FSX.  At the time I was using FSX with the Direct-X 10 beta mode and all the necessary fixes to make it actually worth using.  With that, I had reasonable framerates and a very nice system but for the usual crashes and issues that FSX always is/was plagued with.

When P3d v4 - the first true 64-bit version was released - and others gave it promising reviews, I decided to give it another try.  I was very happy to see that the improved performance not only allowed it to work with my 3 monitors, but with greatly increased graphics settings within the simulator, and without all the performance tweaks that kept the heart of the moribund FSX beating long past its prime.  Additionally, I've found it to be more stable than FSX in that I have no more - or perhaps only once that I can recall, unexpected crash to desktop of P3d, and that includes trying to use the various FSX planes that were not "officially approved" as P3dv4 compatible.  Also including all my adventure pack scenery developed for FSX that has not caused any problems as far as I've been able to detect.

So...that's my anecdotal review of P3dv4 compared to an earlier version and FSX.

John

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
bbuske Posted: 12.09.2018, 20:56



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
I have also noticed, that Prepar3d seems to be quite expensive. However, you can sign up for a developer version, which is 9 USD a month for the professional version and 19 USD a month I think for the Professional Pro version. According to their TOS, this comes with two full copies of P3D for you to use. 

What I could not yet figure out is, if the license you get this way expires if you cancel the subscription or if you can keep using the software. Would be worth investigate that part. I am currently looking into that as well. However, I noticed, that the only way to purchase P3D or subscribe to it, is by using a credit card. This unfortunately from Venezuela doesn't work. Or I would have probably gotten the Professional Plus Developer access with the two copies.. One for me, one for my wife...  

Anyway, there are also a lot of videos on YouTube. Just have a look for terms like FSX vs P3D or P3D vs X-Plane and you get some decent videos with hands on approach. 

Cheers 

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 13.09.2018, 08:41

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 815

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Ben,

Most flight simmers use the Academic License version for $59.95 (one time payment).  The only issue is that it has the "Academic Version" message in the upper right corner of the screen, but you get used to it and don't even recall seeing it after a while unless you look for it specifically.

As for payment, yes - that could be an issue for non-credit card people, but I haven't had a need to look at other possible options.

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
bbuske Posted: 13.09.2018, 10:31



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Hmm... I haven't thought about that.. The message probably is not much of an issue.
 
Well, I sent a message to their support and P3D is only available by credit card. This makes it not an option, since Venezuelan credit cards don't work outside of the country (one of the many stupidities over here). I guess I gonna stick with FG and X-Plane... X-Plane after all isn't too bad. I think, once I got my new computer, it might be working just fine and it runs with Linux, so no need to fiddle around with the system to make P3D running. 

Anyway... if you find out anything interesting, let me know.I am still somewhat curious.  

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
TribalBob Posted: 14.09.2018, 08:34

TribalBob

registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 79

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Jeez... They charge you $60 and STILL give you a watermarked version...?

It does look awesome though, a YouTube channel I like to watch "TheFlightChannel" does re-enactments of actual aviation emergencies using P3d with a combination of effects, add-ons and other things for P3D v4.3 (64-bit) and the videos look AMAZING.
Top  Profile send PM
 
bbuske Posted: 14.09.2018, 08:55



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Might be worth looking into the dev-subscription. I gonna see if this two copies you get, remain usable after you cancel the subscription and will post it here. That would be a good way to get an unbranded version of the sim.  

TheFlightChannel is great. Been watching that on some occasions. Also great is RealATC. As for P3D, there are a lot of great videos on YouTube with amazing effects and details. The bad thing is, that you don't know what machine the people are using. To run P3D with full detail and getting between 70 to 90 fps only lets me imagine the monstrous CPU /GPU. 

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
TribalBob Posted: 14.09.2018, 09:46

TribalBob

registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 79

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
TheFlightChannel is using this setup (quoted from his latest video, I just replaced his affiliate links with the actual information):




CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K



GPU (Graphic Card): ASUS ROG STRIX GeForce GTX 1080 TI 11GB



GPU (Cheaper, but Good): ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 8GB ROG Strix OC Edition



RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 DRAM 2400MHz (PC4-19200)



MOTHERBOARD: ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero LGA1151 (Intel 8th Gen) DDR4 DP HDMI M.2 Z370



Internal SSD : Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD (MZ-V6E500BW)



Standard Hard Drive: WD Blue 1TB SATA 6 Gb/s 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch Desktop Hard Drive (WD10EZEX)



Definitely a costly setup, though I suspect you could probably get away with a much less expensive setup and still get at least 30fps out of it.

I think my computer could probably handle those visuals at at least 30 fps, here is my setup:


CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K



GPU (Graphic Card): Zotac Geforce GTX 1060 AMP! Edition (6gb VRAM)



RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600MHz)



MOTHERBOARD: MSI B85M-G43



Standard Hard Drive: Western Digital My Passport Ultra 2TB

EDIT: Not sure why i can't remove the double spacing, sorry...





edited by: TribalBob, Sep 14, 2018 - 10:50 AM
Top  Profile send PM
 
bbuske Posted: 14.09.2018, 09:53



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
That's quite a decent machine. Mine, once it finally arrives, has a i7 processor but only 16GB RAM and 2GB VRAM... needs a new graphics card, that is already on my list. Still better than the laptop... I have to see... if the subscription thingy with P3D works out, I might give it a try on the new machine. Just to compare with X-Plane and FlightGear.

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
TribalBob Posted: 14.09.2018, 12:58

TribalBob

registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 79

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
If you're looking for a decent GPU, I'd definitely recommend the one that I have, it's only drawback is that it is not SLI-capable (but since I was never going to use an SLI setup that bit is irrelevant to me, the one card does just fine all by itself). I have yet to find a game that I can't run in max settings at 60fps or better in 1080p or better (I typically run in 3200x1800 resolution as it is the highest downsampled resolution that my HDTV is capable of) even while livestreaming, and as higher end cards go, it's pretty affordable at $279 right now...

Also, I only have 16gb of RAM and it has been more than enough for all the games I throw at it (and I throw a LOT at it - FPS, Driving/Flight Simulators, RPGs and EVERYTHING in between).

I don't know which i7 you're getting but as long as it has at least 4 cores with 3Ghz or better clock speeds and you upgrade your GPU to something with at least 6gb of VRAM with your 16gb of RAM, you should be covered to play at least 90% or better of the currently existing game titles in 60fps at max settings in 1080p or better.



edited by: TribalBob, Sep 14, 2018 - 01:59 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 
bbuske Posted: 15.09.2018, 12:53



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Lol thanks for the advice. 

Really, there is not much I am playing. Mostly old games on virtual machine, like i-War and Airline Tycoon... What I do play most, is Flight Simulations... well and Stellaris, Hearts of Iron and Europa Universalis, I guess. Just waiting for the guy to call me, to get the machine. I have tried to ask him for the i7 processor, but he did not reply back to me yet. Pretty sure it is a quad-core though. Yeah, the GPU is the thing... I know.. Gonna have to see what I can find here.. not too easy in Venezuela. 

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 15.09.2018, 17:32

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 815

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
I ended up buying a second Academic License for my development computer, as I didn't want the ridiculous continual costs for the developer model.  Add to that the outrageous cost for the development tool, I gave up on development for P3d other than my little scenery additions for the Adventure Packs and the Econ-2018 module.  These I still use the FSX tools for, then test them on both FSX and P3d with default and FTX Global addon to verify compatibility.  Eventually the 3rd-party developers will come up with some free tools, like they did for FSX so that the rest of us can add to the available addons for P3dv4 just as we could for FSX (I hope).

jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
bbuske Posted: 16.09.2018, 13:29



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Hey John, 

how exactly does that work with those pro-developer licenses? 

From what I have seen on their website, you just subscribe to the developer or developer professional plans, which are 10 and 20 bucks respectively. This gives you access to the P3D version as well. Two copies. So my understanding is, that you subscribe, pay that 20 bucks and get two copies of P3D Professional Plus or P3D Professional, without having to pay anything else. No matter if you actually start developing something or not. 

I am not sure however, if this really is how it works. I am also not sure, if the two copies keep working, after you cancel your developer subscription with LM... If you know anything about that you can share, that would be really great. 

Cheers

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 16.09.2018, 21:36

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 815

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
I'm not sure Ben, as I didn't dig too deeply into it after I saw the price tags involved.  My thought on the developer/professional plans that you pay monthly for, I doubt that they will work if you discontinue your monthly payments - perhaps some on-line handshaking that must take place to use them, otherwise who would continue to pay the monthly costs?

Even so, I think they've excluded all but the 'big boys' from contributing addons.  Perhaps PMDG and Aerosoft types can afford the development costs, but for those of us who dabble in creating addons for our simulators - they've pretty much priced us out until others develop some freeware tools to work in lieu of the costly tools recommended by P3dv4.

If I recall correctly, the developer SDK is freely available from them anyway and you can develop on the Academic version I think too.  The problem is that the SDK utilized a 3rd party tool that is also crazy expensive.  That was what finally drove me away from development to P3dv4 standards.  After some experimentation, I discovered that my scenery developed with the old FSX tools for the FSX system work adequately on P3dv4 (for the most part), so I was satisfied with that since I test all my stuff on both systems anyway, and for both default and FTX Global scenery installs to ensure it's as compatible as possible - and if necessary, create separate download for the different systems or scenery addons.

I haven't checked lately to see how the development of freeware tools has progressed for P3d, and I haven't searched forums to see if others have discussed the questions you posed here.  I would think that there should be something regarding these topics by now.


jer029
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
wschneid Posted: 17.09.2018, 11:12



registered: Oct. 2014
Posts: 72

Status: offline
last visit: 17.09.18
So, would I see any substantial improvement using P3D V4 over FSX? And would it be worth spending the $10 to see if it is?

Bill
Top  Profile send PM
 
bbuske Posted: 17.09.2018, 12:14



registered: Aug. 2018
Posts: 82

Status: offline
last visit: 20.09.18
Well, anything you find out about that subscription, let me know. To see if it is worth it and if I am going to give it a try or not.  
Also, for those who don't know and are looking for a cheaper alternative. There is a Steam Edition of FSX available here: 

https://store.steampowered.com/app/314160/Microsoft_Flight_Simulator_X_Steam_Edition/ 

The Steam Edition is just 25 dollars. It also is a revamp of the original FSX, containing both, the content of the gold and deluxe editions, the acceleration add-on and the service packs. There is also quite a bit of downloadable content, additional scenery, etc. available. 

Might be a cheaper alternative for those who wish to stay with something, they already know. Also, this FSX version is supposed to work on new OS, such as Windows 8 or Windows 10. 

Cheers

Ben
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
SPA031 Posted: 17.09.2018, 14:29

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1117

Status: offline
last visit: 17.09.18
I have been using P3D and continue on updating it. It really works fine as long as you tweak the settings correctly for your computer. I found recommended settings on YouTube.

Check out my photos. I use ORBX for scenery and Active Sky's latest version.

Keep updating. cool
Top  Profile send PM
 


Users online:
storfisk

This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language