Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:1
 Guests:5
 Total:6
 Online Members
 Westcoast 

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  Important Announcements/Welcome/Achievements ::  SPAACARS v. 7.0 and New Econ Module Is Now Released !
Moderated by:

Bottom 

SPAACARS v. 7.0 and New Econ Module Is Now Released !

jer029 Posted: 04.11.2017, 18:47

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 634

Status: offline
last visit: 20.11.17
Pilots,

Version 7.0 SPAACARs program is now available for download.  This is required for use if you wish to fly the Econ Mod flights.  The Econ module is active now as well, and I've completed two 'official' flights there as a test and demo.  Note that the flight numbers must not have any spaces between the numbers and letters.  The flights are listed in the "Cargo & Freight" area of the Special Operations area of the Main Menu.  The flight results for your Econ Module flights is located in the Economics area of the Main menu.  Instructions for SPAACARS and the Econ Module are also located in the Economics area.

Sadly, Carenado's C208 Caravan seems to have issues yet in the P3d v4 platform - transparent VC textures, so I was forced to run my test using the Aerosoft DHC-6 Twin Otter on the first flight and the B1900D for my second flight - return flight to KMSP.

For those who, like me, choose to use a heavier aircraft with a larger capacity payload (as shown in SPAACARS after it initializes with your simulator), you will want to add just enough payload (passengers/cargo) from your simulator's payload menu so that your total payload weight equals the 2014 limit for these current flights.  SPAACARS will then recognize that you're carrying the max allowed 2014 Lbs. cargo.  Don't add extra payload or fuel and you won't get charged extra for that weight - just perhaps the weight of your heavier aircraft.  But don't short yourself too much on fuel - remember there are penalties for that too.

When choosing a suitable aircraft, you may wish to do a side-by-side comparison of my two flights made with very different aircraft - although both twin-prop, the 1900 is a faster plane but burns fuel faster.  I might also note that there were very different flight routes for these trips, with the 1900 flight much farther following IFR low-alt chart routes while the dhc-6 flew direct GPS.  The combination of longer route and higher fuel-burn rate caused me to burn almost twice as much fuel as I did with the dhc-6.  This almost doubled the fuel costs for the 1900, and with the added costs for the increased weight and flight time, added additional costs in the other areas.  I again managed to avoid penalties this flight - but just barely I think - coming close to running below the 30 min reserve on landing.

Not sure what else you can take from this when picking your aircraft and planning your flights.  You should note that a very short flight is not economical and can result in a net loss.  It's clear from this example that a longer flight won't necessary equate to higher profit either.

Lastly - I haven't yet added the award icons for the Econ Module - or even decided how best to implement them, but I'll get to that soon.

Good luck, and enjoy this added detail for your flight sim experience.


Also - feel free to add any questions or issues here in the forum - or feel free to email me, because once you're flying Econ - you're on your own.

John



edited by: jer029, Nov 05, 2017 - 11:51 AM

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
JimMagin Posted: 05.11.2017, 17:05

JimMagin

registered: Aug. 2015
Posts: 78

Status: offline
last visit: 15.11.17
YOUR NEW PROGRAM CAN'T FIND THE spa.INI FILED IN THE SAME DIRECTORY AS SPAACARS7



Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 05.11.2017, 17:10

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 634

Status: offline
last visit: 20.11.17
Jim,

Since SPAACARS version 6 you have to select the ini file through the "file" option in the settings menu as listed in the instructions:



It no longer "pops up" the file menu for you.

If you're doing this according to the instructions - choosing the ini file through the "File" menu option and it's still not working - please let me know.  I've not noticed this problem, but one other pilot with  release of version 6.0 made similar comment when SPAACARS didn't automatically serve up the ini file for them after a new reinstall of the program.

John



edited by: jer029, Nov 05, 2017 - 07:12 PM

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
JimMagin Posted: 05.11.2017, 22:26

JimMagin

registered: Aug. 2015
Posts: 78

Status: offline
last visit: 15.11.17
Hey John

ECON Page missing from Main Menu  can't get my total results or I may be missing something was there a change

JimMagin SPA629



Top  Profile send PM
 
Admin Posted: 06.11.2017, 08:28
Site Admin
Admin

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 40

Status: offline
last visit: 06.11.17
Jim,

I'm not seeing an econ flight for you currently.  Sorry for the confusion, as there have been many changes lately - hopefully for the better when pilots get comfortable with the changes.

Due to recent changes, I encourage pilots to review the instructions again - as they have been updated to explain these many changes (Especially the Econ Mod Instructions).

Note:

-The Econ Instructions are the middle link under the Economics section of the Main Menu - Please review this page!  Much new information here!
      *Note in the instructions that the cargo flight numbers must match those special econ flights ending with "CB"

-The Econ Page is the first link "Cargo Econ Page" under Economics section of the Main Menu

-The flights for the Econ Module are located under Yoland's Bush Ops section titled "Cargo and Freight".

     * Sorry for the location of the flight numbers under Bush Ops, but I started by using Yoland's original Cargo schedule he originally designed around the Econ Module.  I will duplicate that
       information today to the Cargo Econ Page so it's all in one place.

John
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
bilson Posted: 06.11.2017, 09:40

bilson

registered: Apr. 2017
Posts: 35

Status: offline
last visit: 21.11.17
So let see if I get this . . .  no more credit for passenger flights, only cargo flights, using the CB flights only which does not give your hub credit for flights. All previous eco passengers info gone?  What is the incentive to flight pass flights from your hub or any pass flights?
Very confused with this!

Bill  icon_confused
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 06.11.2017, 11:47

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 634

Status: offline
last visit: 20.11.17
No Bill,

You get credit for all flights in your log book and flight hours totals.  That includes any type of flights.  Hub credited flights have always been based on hub schedules and you get credit for them there.  Econ flights are a separate type of flight and were not originally intended to be inclusive of all flights.  The new Econ Mod flights will be recorded differently and not listed as a hub flight.  They actually count as Special Ops flights (prefixed with the number '9').  Again - in all cases all flights appear in your logbook and count as flight hours for you.

I have archived the previous econ data from the econ display - you still have credit for those flights in your log and hourly totals and hub listings.  They just don't show in the Econ Module page any longer.

Those flights and flight data still exist, I just want to 'reset' the current Econ display using the new Econ criteria.  It would not make sense to combine the old econ data with the new data because the new econ settings record the data very differently.

The old econ flights used a different cost-revenue structure, allowed pilots to fly wherever they wanted to in whatever they wanted to which defeated the original intent of the Econ Module - ie. pilots flying under similar cargo capacity, routes, etc.  The new econ  model corrects that, however, mixing old econ data and new econ data would be meaningless for comparison among the different participants in the Econ Model.

In order to "reset" the econ flight display to only include the new data, I'm only displaying currently dated econ flights matching the required flight numbers.

As stated in the Econ Instructions - you can still fly passengers (Econ Model doesn't differentiate between cargo or passenger for revenue generation).  It just currently limits the capacity of the plane you fly).  This will likely be expanded to include a larger aircraft capacity group if the new cost/revenue adjustments and other efforts to standardize Econ flights among pilots is successful in this restructuring.

Is this a problem?

If so, in what way?

Thanks,

John



edited by: jer029, Nov 06, 2017 - 11:52 AM

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
bilson Posted: 06.11.2017, 13:19

bilson

registered: Apr. 2017
Posts: 35

Status: offline
last visit: 21.11.17
Hi John,
I didn't mean to infer that flights were no longer in the logbooks. I guess I think of Economics as income or revenue made by flights whether cargo or passenger flights.  Aircraft efficiency, flight & fuel planning along with load revenue whether cargo or pass all make the airlines bottom line which is what I thought that the Eco Mod was all about. The old one did need overhauling as it treated the different pilot categories as one which created poor stats for the lower rated pilots restricted to smaller aircraft. I think your moving in the right direction, please don't take me wrong. I would just like to see all flight revenue.

I think this discussion is in the wrong area as I believe the heading was about SPAACARS 7. So I'll make a comment about v7. I'm testing it now with first flight since downloading.  If one uses AVG for antivirus protection it might want to examen the program and will lock you out until this is done.  One other thing I found it the title bar still says v6.3. If I have logging issues I'll of course let you know.

Bill Smilie icon_cool

Please becareful shoveling the snow and bundle up.  It's a horrible 79° here and had to watch the Stuart (KSUA) Air Show from a boat in the ocean Saturday. 
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 06.11.2017, 14:36

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 634

Status: offline
last visit: 20.11.17
I think we're on the same page here Bill.  Yes...all those things you mentioned:

"I guess I think of Economics as income or revenue made by flights whether cargo or passenger flights.  Aircraft efficiency, flight & fuel planning along with load revenue whether cargo or pass all make the airlines bottom line which is what I thought that the Eco Mod was all about."  

Yes...but when I overhauled the module to help improve standardization the changes in how cost and revenue are calculated make it impractical to mix old econ data with new econ data.

This way pilots all start at the same place.  While I could bring back a display with the old data - it just adds confusion I think.  I would prefer that pilots just accept the credit given for those flights as logged in their logbook and flight hours, and even hub hours, but realize that future econ flight data displayed now must all be based on the current cost/revenue formula so as to have any meaning for the displayed data.

Again - pilots can fly passengers or cargo or combination of both currently.  The major issue right now is that I've limited this to smaller capacity cargo/passenger planes.  While you can always fly larger planes - just reduce your payload to the 2014 Lbs. limit set for the current Econ Module - as I did with the B1900 and the DHC-6, it's entirely possible that doing so to the extreme ie. taking a 777 and flying with a payload of 2014 Lbs, will likely have an adverse affect on your profits.  Eventually I'll add a separate Econ Flight group for larger aircraft.  I'd like to see how this pans out after we've had a chance to test this module with smaller aircraft first.  Let's get something working on a smaller scale and then build on it - adding larger aircraft flights.  Those would also be tracked separately so that data can be compared relative to similar aircraft characteristics.

John

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
bilson Posted: 06.11.2017, 23:14

bilson

registered: Apr. 2017
Posts: 35

Status: offline
last visit: 21.11.17
OK John just finished first flight and it logged 26+ hours  should have been 10:12 TT with 9:48 FT..  Please adjust that before I get accused of padding my hours..  I have more thoughts but will send in an email tomorrow, sure you can't wait. I did save the file and if you would like it I could send it but the only thing that I see that's wrong is the time. 
Later, Bill Smilie icon_cool

Just check the log in FSX and looks like the fault was in my computer as it showed the same 20 some hours for the flight.  Please just adjust time.



edited by: bilson, Nov 06, 2017 - 11:25 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 07.11.2017, 07:28

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 634

Status: offline
last visit: 20.11.17
Hello Bill,

No changes were made to time or flt hour handling. Only payload (cargo capacity) calculation - a bug caused incorrect capacity with subsequent model selection prior to flight.  Corrections to that led me to find an error with multiple threads running and attempting to make simultaneous calls to FSUIPC which resulted in error.  This error was interpreted as a sim disconnect whereby SPAACARS would chime the disconnect alert and 'reconnect'.

I think I also found and corrected the issue Nick found regarding running subsequent flights without shutting down and restarting SPAACARS.  SPAACARS logging buttons and Send buttons should remain disabled after pirep is successfully sent.  Earlier version would reactivate the "stop Log" button, perhaps having pilots think they could run multiple flights without shutting down and restarting SPAACARS.

Lastly changes to force pirep sending automatically when Econ mode is set.

John

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 


Users online:
Westcoast

This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language