Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:0
 Guests:1
 Total:1
 Online Members
No Online members

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  Pilots' Pub ::  P3D v4
Moderated by:

Bottom 

P3D v4

mcfaddenl Posted: 02.06.2017, 15:28



registered: Sep. 2015
Posts: 4

Status: offline
last visit: 02.06.17
I flew my first flight with P3D v4 using the default beech 350 and the new beta fsuipc and all went well. Acars recorded and filed it as expected.
I also had major orbx products installed. No stutter or VAS problems encountered but then I was in Africa and saw nothing but sand.

Larry 
Top  Profile send PM
 
gasman222 Posted: 05.06.2017, 15:00



registered: Apr. 2014
Posts: 71

Status: offline
last visit: 25.08.17
I just flew my first flight in P3dv4 with the PMDG 747F. Running the beta Active Sky, V5 of FSUIPC and the updated ORBX scenery. !NO OOM WARNINGS, FPS =22@ KJFK!!!!  Big grin on my face, Christmas came 6 months early.. Thanks to all the vendors for quick turnarounds on the new sim, it was definitely worth the wait...and the money!!! Lots of fun ahead!!
Scott Sinclair
Top  Profile send PM
 
Yoland Posted: 07.06.2017, 13:16

Yoland

registered: Jul. 2008
Posts: 1372

Status: offline
last visit: 25.09.17
I also installed P3D v.4 - absolutely no problems for the setting up and everything works fine. I also installed all the already available ORBX sceneries (it's free of charge and automatically installed through FTX Central).
It works fine but compared with P3D V.3, it does not make a very big difference on my machine despite the fact that this new program is 64 bits.
I still have to experiment on various sceneries and with different aircrafts to find some possible "great improvement". For the time being all I can say is that it works very well but I wasn't smashed bb the difference with the previous program. Just my opinion

icon_biggrin 



edited by: Yoland, Jun 07, 2017 - 08:18 PM

Yoland Grosjean - SPA 348
CEO St Paul Airlines VA
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
SPA031 Posted: 07.06.2017, 14:14

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1088

Status: offline
last visit: 07.10.17
REX: http://www.rexsimulations.com/index.html

I am still running P3D v3.4 but experienced an out of memory crash once. Maybe P3D v4 will fix that.

I understand that one cannot install P3D v4 into the same folder as P3D v3. Does this mean that one has to pay again for version four?  Maybe I can install version 3 on another computer and replace it with version four on my current sim computer.
Top  Profile send PM
 
Yoland Posted: 07.06.2017, 15:16

Yoland

registered: Jul. 2008
Posts: 1372

Status: offline
last visit: 25.09.17
It's a new program (you have to buy it, it is not an upgrade). On the same computer it should be installed on separate drive to avoid conflicts.
As I never had out of memory crash with P3D v.3, I cannot affirm that this is avoided with this new version. But normally with 64 bits you should have a more efficient use of the computer's memory.

Yoland Grosjean - SPA 348
CEO St Paul Airlines VA
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 08.06.2017, 07:33

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 595

Status: offline
last visit: 17.10.17
This is a link you might find interesting:

http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6315&t=124932

I think I'll stick with FSX for a while, as I've had problems running triple-monitor setup with earlier P3D version.



jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 18.07.2017, 15:27

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 595

Status: offline
last visit: 17.10.17
Ok...so I finally bought P3d V4 and will give it a try on my system.  Regardless, it should help me test some of the bugs related to SPAACARS and develop scenes specifically designed for P3dV4 - but that's way down the road for now think.  I'm also just too jealous of the wonderful graphics I'm seeing in the P3d photos...kinda makes the FSX stuff look like a comic book.


jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
gasman222 Posted: 18.07.2017, 20:21



registered: Apr. 2014
Posts: 71

Status: offline
last visit: 25.08.17
John, I knew we would get you soon or later!! I have been running v4 for over a month now and I still am amazed at what I am seeing out my window. As more and more products move up to v4 nirvanna, things just keep improving all the time. I have been flight simming for over 30 years and I have never had it so good. I think you will enjoy your new addition,  look forward to seeing what you do with the sim.
Scott
SPA594
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 18.07.2017, 20:48

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 595

Status: offline
last visit: 17.10.17
Sounds good Scott,  I'll start installing tomorrow and see how it goes bluescreen.

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
SPA031 Posted: 19.07.2017, 11:29

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1088

Status: offline
last visit: 07.10.17
There are some real cool Carenado aircraft for P3d v4 too. Other developers are getting on board as well.
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 19.07.2017, 17:51

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 595

Status: offline
last visit: 17.10.17
That jump to 64 bit might set it up to beat any competitors.

My game system is down for about a week for repairs cry2- so that will slow down most non-website related stuff.

John

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
SPA031 Posted: 19.07.2017, 21:09

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1088

Status: offline
last visit: 07.10.17
Try running P3D on an SSD. Also, get the GeForce GTX 1080 Ti  graphics card.



edited by: SPA031, Jul 19, 2017 - 10:20 PM
Top  Profile send PM
 


Users online:


This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language